Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) Anyone?

My husband was recently diagnosed with Chronic Kidney Disease. Saturday he had a new set of blood tests and kidney ultrasound. Tomorrow we go see the Renal doc. I have already been using the CKD diet for him, cooking many special low sodium, low fat, low potassium recipes from the DiVita website. I have even been making low sodium bread and hamburger rolls the last month. I have some lo-so bread dough rising in the fridge right now which comprises of using 1/4 tsp salt in a loaf of bread versus 1 tsp, and using half the amount of yeast and adding olive oil instead of any other fat. I add 3 TB Extra Virgin olive oil to each loaf of bread instead of the usual 1 Tb because you need the extra fat to make the bread softer longer.  The Renal Doc said to switch to Olive Oil and all I had was Organic Extra Virgin, I bought it at Walmart Great Value brand. I’d rather use classical if it’s on sale I will next time. I’ve also gone back to a more stringent low sodium diet than I have been using in the past for his HBP. Low sodium pizza is awful if you ask me, but I make it. I also make low sodium spaghetti sauce and he uses less sauce on the pasta.

Honestly I accidentally used the same amount of yeast I would use in my regular bread dough. I was making it from memory not the written recipe. I hope it doesn’t rise too fast or taste too different.

2 thoughts on “Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) Anyone?

  1. Hi. What your doing is amazing! I have End stage CKD and am on dialysis. My mum and I have had to change my diet completely. If I have any tip for your husband which kept me off dialysis for as long as I did, is keep to the diet RELIGIOUSLY! Seriously, eat less meat (urea), eat foods with low to nil salt, do NOT add extra salt to your food. There are also some amazing Kidney friendly cook books as its really difficult finding normal recipes to suit the diet. I hope I helped even a little bit. CKB

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

