Purple Oatmeal

I’m supposed to be on a FATTY LIVER Diet, which starts out each day with a bowl of oatmeal every other day then eating one egg and a piece of buttered toast in between. Now that was a horrible 800 calorie diet my cousin was on due to her extreme obesity. I found it unreasonable! I need more calories to survive. But I know I eat too much fat so I started eating oatmeal 5-6 days a week and having two eggs and a slice of toast or even a diner breakfast once in a while including eggs, sausage, bacon or scrapple and home-fries and toast. Anyone on an 800 calorie diet has to be staving all the time, right? it’s CRAZY!

Yet with my IBS I found myself feeling bloated form the oatmeal I was making, which I know is very high in carbs. Here’s the recipe I was using:

1/2 Cup Quick Oats

1/2 cup milk,

1/2 Cup Water

dash salt

1/4 tsp Cinnamon

Dried  or Fresh Fruit (optional)

So I cooked all that for a few minutes and it was quite creamy with the added milk. Then I added a TB honey and a little milk on top to eat it. I added 1/2 cup thawed frozen Maine blueberries once but it was too sour. I then decided to just eat the berries separately after I added 1 level tsp table sugar.

Today I cut back the oats to 1/3 cup and added almost 1 cup water, the cinnamon and salt then I added the sugared berries into the oatmeal at the end of the cooking along with 2 tsp honey, and it was a bowl of purple deliciousness! I highly recommend it! I don’t feel bloated since I didn’t add the extra milk to the recipe., and it was just too big a serving before. Tomorrow I may try not sugaring the fruit! LOL

Leave a Reply

