Bah Humbug!

I used to hate Christmas! Although it has merely weakened to dislike this year. I was frustrated in not having money to buy gifts for my loved ones. It got to the point where I asked my kids not to buy us any Christmas gifts because we couldn’t afford to buy them anything in return. Yet my daughter did give us a gift last year, which made me feel awkward. I felt equally awkward NOT exchanging last year.. I guess there’s no getting around it. I still can’t buy my kids a gift this year. This year we (my sisters and nieces and I) have decided to just do a family gift bag exchange at the big family Christmas Eve Dinner, which saves ME money anyway. Buying stuff for 6-7 gift bags is expensive.  So I will make a piece of framed artwork and maybe give some cookies. I’ll have to see what I come up with. You know how things get all blown out of proportion? It all started out with us 4 sisters exchanging gifts, now our daughters have joined in.. It’s just too many people to buy for when you are broke around the holidays. I wish we had never started this crap… Oh well. I was always grateful for the gifts I received, but ended up feeling bad also.

Leave a Reply

