Crock Pot Bean Soup

Yesterday morning I was all set to make a pot of Mixed Bean Soup. I put the old thawed out ham bones in the pot and all the water and spices when I realized I had forgotten to soak the beans overnight. So I ended up shoving the whole crock pot liner into the fridge after I added the bag of dried beans to soak overnight. Now this morning I placed the ice cold crock into the crock pot cooker and it’s taking forever to simmer! I added carrots, and a whole TB of Chili Powder instead of the 1 tsp recommended on the bag. Oh well. It says to add tomatoes to it, but I was going to add V 8 tomato juice instead, but I had added too much water- (My standard 3 quarts for most soup recipes instead of 2). I have NO celery to add to the soup! I must have a bunch on hand for soups now that I’m making them again.

Leave a Reply

